Minnesota Indie
Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Coens Return to Minnesota

Joel and Ethan Coen returned to Minneapolis this weekend to promote their newest film “A Serious Man” at the Walker Art Museum. The Star Tribune ran a great piece on the event that include a short bio of their careers. Their film, “A Serious Man”, debuted at the Toronto Film Festival earlier this September to rave reviews. The film was set and shot in St. Louis Park , Minnesota, the city in which the two brothers spent most of their childhood, as well as other locations around the Twin Cities. They shot the film on a limited budget of only 15 million dollars. Despite the minimal budget, the film is already receiving Oscar buzz after its unveiling in Toronto. For those of you who don’t know or don’t remember, the pairs previous Oscar winning film was “No Country for Old Men.”  As a cult Coen fan myself I am eagerly anticipating their newest addition. I actually found a copy of the script I’ll begin reading it immediately. I’ll share my thoughts on my blog as soon as I’ve finished.

No Responses to “The Coens Return to Minnesota”

Leave a Reply

